Lay plan

I produced this lay plan by scanning in an original hand drawn lay-plan and digitising it on photoshop as a group. Then, I moved and rotated each pattern piece to save as much fabric as possible. Each pattern piece needed to be given 1cm of seam allowance- so I couldn’t put pattern pieces less than 2cm away from each other, and less that 1cm away from the edge of the fabric. Originally, if I hadn’t used digital technology to move the pattern pieces closer together,  I would have used 2.1m of fabric, which would have cost £11.55, but I reduced it to 1.7m of fabric, which costs £9.35, which is a saving of £2.20. In industry, this would mean massive reductions in costs on a mass produced scale.

 

Leave a Reply

